Alpha Brain vs Qualia Mind
Two flagship nootropics, audited side by side. Same rubric, same rules. Here's which one wins on each dimension — and which one wins overall.
Affiliate disclosureWe earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our scores and rankings follow our published methodology; commissions do not influence them. Read our methodology

Alpha Brain
Onnit's US nootropic stack, backed by two clinical studies. Good mainstream trust, but proprietary blends limit transparency.
Check Alpha Brain ($79/mo) →
Qualia Mind
31 active ingredients -- the most of any single formula in this review. Best for experienced biohackers. Not recommended for EU buyers (no EU storefront).
Check Qualia Mind ($159/mo) →Qualia Mind wins on score
Qualia Mind scores 7.3/10 in our 5-pillar audit; Alpha Brain scores 5.2/10. The biggest delta is at the formula-transparency pillar — see the dosing table below.
Read our methodology →Quick specs side-by-side
Clinical dosing audit
Each disclosed ingredient dose vs. minimum effective dose from peer-reviewed human clinical trials. Underdosed ingredients flagged. Ingredients hidden inside proprietary blends cannot be evaluated.
| Ingredient | Clinical dose | Alpha Brain | Qualia Mind |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bacopa Monnieri (Focus Blend) | 300-450mg/day (55% bacosides) | 100mg✗ | — |
| Alpha-GPC (Focus Blend) | 300-600mg/day | Not stated; at most 140mg (240mg blend incl. 100mg Bacopa)✗ | — |
| Huperzine A (Toothed Clubmoss, Focus Blend) | 100-200mcg/day | 400mcg✓ | — |
| L-Tyrosine (Flow Blend) | 2000mg/day (lowest positive trial) | Not stated; at most 650mg (blend total)✗ | — |
| L-Theanine (Flow Blend) | 100-200mg/day | Not stated (share of 650mg blend)? | — |
| Phosphatidylserine (Flow Blend) | 100-300mg/day | Not stated (share of 650mg blend)? | — |
| Oat Straw Extract (Flow Blend) | 430-1600mg/day | Not stated (share of 650mg blend)? | — |
| Cat's Claw Bark Extract | No reference dose on file | 350mg? | — |
| Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine HCl) | No reference dose on file | 10mg? | — |
| L-Leucine + Pterostilbene (Fuel Blend) | No reference dose on file | 60mg (blend total)? | — |
| Vitamin C (ascorbic acid) | No reference dose on file | — | 45mg? |
| Vitamin D (cholecalciferol) | No reference dose on file | — | 15mcg (600 IU)? |
| Thiamine (thiamine HCl) | No reference dose on file | — | 2.5mg? |
| Riboflavin | No reference dose on file | — | 2mg? |
| Niacin (niacinamide) | No reference dose on file | — | 16mg? |
| Vitamin B6 (pyridoxal 5'-phosphate) | No reference dose on file | — | 2mg? |
| Folate (L-5-methyltetrahydrofolate calcium) | No reference dose on file | — | 333mcg DFE? |
| Vitamin B12 (methylcobalamin) | No reference dose on file | — | 100mcg? |
| Biotin | No reference dose on file | — | 30mcg? |
| Pantothenic Acid (D-calcium pantothenate) | No reference dose on file | — | 5mg? |
| Magnesium (magnesium aspartate) | No reference dose on file | — | 84mg? |
| Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCl | 1500-3000mg/day | — | 500mg✗ |
| Rhodiola rosea Root Extract (3% rosavins, 1% salidrosides) | 200-600mg/day | — | 370mg✓ |
| Nutricog (Terminalia chebula fruit and Boswellia serrata gum resin extracts) | No reference dose on file | — | 300mg? |
| N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine | 2000mg/day (lowest positive trial) | — | 250mg✗ |
| Taurine | No reference dose on file | — | 200mg? |
| L-Theanine | 100-200mg/day | — | 200mg✓ |
| Organic Lion's Mane Mushroom Extract (RealLionsMane) | 1000-1800mg/day | — | 125mg (8:1 extract)? |
| Ginkgo biloba Leaf Extract (24% glycosides) | 240mg/day (24/6 extract) | — | 120mg✗ |
| Alpha-GPC (L-alpha-glycerylphosphorylcholine) | 300-600mg/day | — | 115mg✗ |
| Caffeine (from Coffeeberry coffee fruit extract, guarana seed extract and anhydrous caffeine) | 100-200mg | — | 100mg✓ |
| Phosphatidylserine (from sunflower lecithin) | 100-300mg/day | — | 100mg✓ |
| Polygala tenuifolia Root Extract | No reference dose on file | — | 100mg? |
| SmartSeed (Celastrus paniculatus seed extract) | No reference dose on file | — | 90mg? |
| Cognizin (citicoline) | 250-500mg/day | — | 50mg✗ |
| Sabroxy (Oroxylum indicum bark extract) | No reference dose on file | — | 50mg? |
| Saffron Stigma Extract | No reference dose on file | — | 30mg? |
| Lutein (Lutemax Brain marigold flower extract) | 12-27mg/day | — | 10mg (12mg lutein + zeaxanthin together)✓ |
| Pyrroloquinoline Quinone Disodium Salt (PQQ) | No reference dose on file | — | 10mg? |
| Boron (boron glycinate) | No reference dose on file | — | 3mg? |
| Zeaxanthin (Lutemax Brain marigold flower extract) | 12-27mg/day | — | 2mg (12mg lutein + zeaxanthin together)✓ |
Clinical-dose anchors sourced from PubMed-indexed human RCTs and Examine.com syntheses. See our methodology.
Score breakdown across 5 pillars
Pros & cons each
Pros
- Two published clinical studies
- Highest US brand recognition
- Only 2 capsules
- 30-day money-back on a first purchase
- National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Certified for Sport
Cons
- Proprietary blends hide doses
- No EU storefront
- Subscription cancellation issues
Pros
- 31 active ingredients
- 100-day money-back
- Published research program
- Respected in biohacking community
Cons
- $139/month
- 6 capsules per serving
- No EU storefront
- Contains caffeine
Who is each one for?
Choose Alpha Brain if you...
- Want a brand at Whole Foods, Amazon, CVS, Vitamin Shoppe
- Prefer the lower price point with autoship discount
- Don't mind proprietary blends
- Like the Onnit ecosystem (Joe Rogan, kettlebells, etc.)
Choose Qualia Mind if you...
- Want every ingredient and dose disclosed
- Believe in 31-ingredient broad-spectrum cognitive support
- Are willing to take 6 capsules per day
- Are comfortable with $139/mo subscription pricing for the breadth
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, Alpha Brain or Qualia Mind?
They occupy different market positions. Alpha Brain is mainstream — sold at Whole Foods, Amazon, CVS, Vitamin Shoppe — with broad media credibility (Joe Rogan equity partner). Qualia Mind is premium-positioned with 31 ingredients and a doctor-formulated narrative. Alpha Brain hides doses in proprietary blends; Qualia Mind discloses each ingredient. If you prioritize transparency, Qualia wins. If you prioritize accessibility and lower price, Alpha Brain.
Why does Qualia Mind cost so much more?
Qualia Mind is $159 for a one-time 4-week box, or $139 per 4-week subscription shipment, vs Alpha Brain at $79.95 for a 90-count bottle that Onnit calls a 45-day supply (both checked October 2026). Qualia's pricing reflects (a) 31-ingredient formulation cost, (b) trademarked extracts (e.g. SmartSeed, RealLionsMane), (c) direct-to-consumer-only distribution. Alpha Brain has scale economies through retail distribution.
Are both safe to take daily?
Both use food-grade ingredients generally regarded as safe for healthy adults. Onnit Alpha Brain has documented user reports of nausea, hot flashes, and unusually vivid dreams (likely from the Huperzine A acetylcholinesterase inhibition). Qualia Mind's wider ingredient panel raises polypharmacy concerns — discuss with a clinician if you take prescription medications.
Which has a better money-back guarantee?
Qualia's runs longer: Onnit's 30-day money-back guarantee applies only to a first-time purchase, and Onnit's implementation has documented friction (FTC actions historically focused on subscription cancellation). Qualia's 100-day guarantee is paired with subscription pricing that auto-converts after the introductory month — read the fine print.
Do either work for ADHD?
Neither is approved for ADHD. They are dietary supplements, not pharmaceuticals. Some ingredients (L-tyrosine, citicoline, Bacopa) have weak evidence for attention-adjacent benefits but should not replace prescribed ADHD treatment. Always consult a clinician.
Can I buy them at the same retailer?
Alpha Brain is widely available — Whole Foods, Amazon, Vitamin Shoppe, CVS, Sprouts, GNC. Qualia Mind is direct-to-consumer through neurohacker.com plus a few specialty retailers. If retail availability matters, Alpha Brain wins decisively.