Affiliate disclosureWe earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our methodology →
Skip to main content
Head-to-head · Oct 9, 2026

Mind Lab Pro vs Alpha Brain

Two flagship nootropics, audited side by side. Same rubric, same rules. Here's which one wins on each dimension — and which one wins overall.

By The Nootropic Lab editorial teamUpdated 9 min read✓ Fact-checked

Affiliate disclosureWe earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our scores and rankings follow our published methodology; commissions do not influence them. Read our methodology

Mind Lab Pro

Performance Lab
7.5/10
Our score

An 11-ingredient nootropic stack. Every dose is disclosed and the ingredients are backed by peer-reviewed evidence, though only citicoline, phosphatidylserine and L-theanine meet our reference doses. Our editor's choice for overall cognitive support.

Check Mind Lab Pro ($69/mo) →

Alpha Brain

Onnit
5.2/10
Our score

Onnit's US nootropic stack, backed by two clinical studies. Good mainstream trust, but proprietary blends limit transparency.

Check Alpha Brain ($79/mo) →
Verdict

Mind Lab Pro wins on score

The headline difference is formula transparency: Mind Lab Pro discloses every ingredient dose. Alpha Brain uses proprietary blends that hide several active doses behind a single weight. If you want to know what you're taking, Mind Lab Pro is the clearer choice.

Read our methodology →

Quick specs side-by-side

Spec
Mind Lab Pro
Alpha Brain
Price / month
$69 ✓
$79
Serving size
2 caps
2 caps
Money-back
30 days
30 days
Caffeine-free
Yes
Yes
Trustpilot
4.2/5 (82)
4.2/5 (15,776)
Ingredients pillar
9/10 ✓
7/10
Dosing pillar
3.8/10 ✓
1.4/10
Transparency pillar
10/10 ✓
6/10

Clinical dosing audit

Each disclosed ingredient dose vs. minimum effective dose from peer-reviewed human clinical trials. Underdosed ingredients flagged. Ingredients hidden inside proprietary blends cannot be evaluated.

IngredientClinical doseMind Lab ProAlpha Brain
Lion's Mane Mushroom1000-1800mg/day500mg✗—
Citicoline (Cognizin)250-500mg/day250mg✓—
Bacopa Monnieri (full-spectrum extract, 24% bacosides)300-450mg/day (55% bacosides)150mg✗—
Rhodiola Rosea (3% rosavins, 1% salidrosides)200-600mg/day50mg✗—
L-Theanine100-200mg/day100mg✓—
Phosphatidylserine100-300mg/day100mg✓—
N-Acetyl L-Tyrosine (NALT)2000mg/day (lowest positive trial)175mg✗—
Maritime Pine Bark Extract (95% proanthocyanidins)100-200mg/day75mg✗—
Vitamin B6 (NutriGenesis)No reference dose on file2.5mg?—
Vitamin B9 (NutriGenesis)No reference dose on file100mcg?—
Vitamin B12 (NutriGenesis)No reference dose on file7.5mcg?—
Bacopa Monnieri (Focus Blend)300-450mg/day (55% bacosides)—100mg✗
Alpha-GPC (Focus Blend)300-600mg/day—Not stated; at most 140mg (240mg blend incl. 100mg Bacopa)✗
Huperzine A (Toothed Clubmoss, Focus Blend)100-200mcg/day—400mcg✓
L-Tyrosine (Flow Blend)2000mg/day (lowest positive trial)—Not stated; at most 650mg (blend total)✗
L-Theanine (Flow Blend)100-200mg/day—Not stated (share of 650mg blend)?
Phosphatidylserine (Flow Blend)100-300mg/day—Not stated (share of 650mg blend)?
Oat Straw Extract (Flow Blend)430-1600mg/day—Not stated (share of 650mg blend)?
Cat's Claw Bark ExtractNo reference dose on file—350mg?
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine HCl)No reference dose on file—10mg?
L-Leucine + Pterostilbene (Fuel Blend)No reference dose on file—60mg (blend total)?

Clinical-dose anchors sourced from PubMed-indexed human RCTs and Examine.com syntheses. See our methodology.

Score breakdown across 5 pillars

Mind Lab Pro
7.5
ingredients9/10
dosing3.8/10
transparency10/10
value8/10
trust9/10
Alpha Brain
5.2
ingredients7/10
dosing1.4/10
transparency6/10
value7/10
trust8/10

Pros & cons each

Mind Lab Pro

Pros

  • 11 ingredients, every dose disclosed
  • Third-party tested, allergen-free
  • EU and US storefronts
  • Caffeine-free
  • 365-day affiliate cookie

Cons

  • Premium price ($69/mo)
  • 2 capsules per serving (2–4 per day suggested)
  • 30-day money-back
Alpha Brain

Pros

  • Two published clinical studies
  • Highest US brand recognition
  • Only 2 capsules
  • 30-day money-back on a first purchase
  • National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Certified for Sport

Cons

  • Proprietary blends hide doses
  • No EU storefront
  • Subscription cancellation issues

Who is each one for?

Choose Mind Lab Pro if you...

  • Want to know exactly what you're taking — every dose disclosed
  • Care about peer-reviewed efficacy data (multiple Leeds RCTs)
  • Prefer caffeine-free with no autoship pressure
  • Are willing to pay $69/mo for formula transparency

Choose Alpha Brain if you...

  • Want a brand you can buy at Whole Foods, Amazon, CVS, Vitamin Shoppe
  • Prefer the lower price point with autoship discount
  • Don't mind proprietary blends
  • Are comfortable navigating Onnit's documented cancellation friction

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, Mind Lab Pro or Alpha Brain?

Mind Lab Pro discloses every ingredient dose; Alpha Brain hides several behind proprietary blends. If formula transparency matters to you, Mind Lab Pro is the stronger choice. If you prefer a brand with broad retail distribution and a 15% subscription discount, Alpha Brain is the more accessible option.

Are Mind Lab Pro and Alpha Brain caffeine-free?

Both are caffeine-free. Mind Lab Pro is explicitly marketed as caffeine-free. Alpha Brain Classic is also caffeine-free; Onnit's Black Label and Instant variants include other ingredients you should check the label for.

How long until each takes effect?

Both contain ingredients with mixed onset profiles. L-theanine (in both) acts within 30–60 minutes. Bacopa Monnieri (in both) needs 4–12 weeks of consistent use for measurable cognitive effects. Plan for at least 8 weeks before judging long-term efficacy.

Do they offer money-back guarantees?

Mind Lab Pro: 30-day Performance Promise (money back if you finish the bottle and don't see a benefit). Alpha Brain: standard Onnit return window.

Which is better value for money?

Mind Lab Pro is $69/month at full price. Alpha Brain is $79.95 for a 90-count bottle, which Onnit calls a 45-day supply (checked 7 October 2026). Mind Lab Pro costs more but offers a fully open formula. Alpha Brain is cheaper but several active ingredients sit inside undisclosed proprietary blends.

Are these alternatives to Adderall?

No. Mind Lab Pro and Alpha Brain are dietary supplements regulated under DSHEA. Adderall is a Schedule II prescription stimulant for ADHD. The two are not equivalent and supplements should not be marketed as replacements for prescription medication. Always consult a clinician for ADHD treatment.